Friday, January 28, 2011

The Awards goes to 3 beautyful & brainy Women

Three young women scientists were awarded DKK 300 000 and had a boost to their career when Patron of the Danish UNESCO commission Princess Marie honoured the women with a fellowship created by L’Oréal Danmark.

Hanne Poulsen, Vibe Gedsø Frøkjær and Sarah Ruepp were awarded the prestigious fellowship ’For Women in Science’ created to promote Danish women in science and help them reach the highest level in research.

Tina Nedergaard, Minister of education and Minister for UNESCO pointed out that ’Only one out of four researchers in the world is a woman and there should be an equal balance.  We need programmes to support women in science, such as these fellowships, the Minister stated.
For the fourth time the Danish UNESCO-national commission, the Royal Danish Academy and L’Oréal Danmark A/S put focus on women in science – the World needs science and science needs women – as the managing Director Mark Prestwich put it in his speech.
The partnership regarding women in research goes beyond the borders of Denmark, and since the start in 1998 more than 900 women have been supported in their scientific career.

The three researchers that received the fellowship today are:

Hanne Poulsen, PhD  Aarhus University
Vibe Gedsø Frøkjær, PhD Neurobiological Research Unit, Rigshospitalet, Copenhagen
Sarah Ruepp, PhD working with Telecommunication at Insitute for Photonics

No comments:

Post a Comment